Click on the continent to see the pictures in full-size.

continent.jpg (118640 bytes) cont2.jpg (8907 bytes)

A continent has 2 main characteristics

  1. One of the seven
  2. Largest bodies of land

The Seven Continents Are:

  1. North America
  2. South America
  3. Asia
  4. Europe
  5. Antarctica
  6. Africa
  7. Australia

What is a Continent Landform?

By third grade, students should know what the seven continents of the world are. A continent is a very large land mass. If we look deep down in the Earth, we discover  the continent lands are connected to their own tectonic plate. That is why Greenland is part of the North American continent and not its own continent.

What are the Seven Continents?

The seven continents of  planet Earth are North America, South America, Australia, Asia, Europe, Africa and Antarctica.

What are the Six Continents?

We just explained that the Earth has seven continents. Some scientists believe we only have six because Europe and Asia are connected but separated by mountains. The six are Africa, Antarctica, Australia, Eurasia, North America, and South America. Eurasia is Europe and Asia combined.

What is the Largest Continent?

The largest continent in the world is Asia or Eurasia. Asia is over 17 million square miles.

Continents in Square Miles

  • Asia – 17,139,445 square miles
  • Africa – 11,677,239 square miles
  • North America – 9,361,791 square miles
  • South America – 6,880,706 square miles
  • Antarctica – About 5,500,000 square miles
  • Europe – 3,997,929 square miles
  • Australia – 2,967,909 square miles

How is a Continent Formed?

This is a long story. In simple terms, the continents were formed when the Earth was created and water came into our world.   The oceans filled in between the big land masses better known as our continents.

Continent Definition

  • The 7 or 6 large bodies of land surrounded by water.

Submit Your Own Landforms

We want pictures and location of the lanforms around the world and we need your help. Click get started button below.


Today's Featured Picture

The Albers projection is a conic, equal area map projection, named after Heinrich C.

Landform Blog

Himalyan Mountain Range

The Roof of the World: Himalaya Mountain Range

  In Asia, China, India, Nepal, and Bhutan are home to one of the eight wonders of the world and one of the most beautiful mountains in the world, the Himalaya Mountains also called the Himalayas.  Boasting as the world’s highest and most famous mountain peak, Mt. Everest. Within the verse of the ‘Kumarsambhava’, Sanskrit […]

Volcanic Eruption

Volcano Eruption: Tips and Emergency Preparation Before, During and After a Volcanic Eruption

  Nature have provided us with fascinating landforms and features.  The most often adored landforms are volcanoes.  Like the perfect cone structure of Mayon Volcano in the Philippines or Mount Fiji in Japan, people look at their beauty and wonder with great appreciation to nature. Volcanoes are mountains with a very disastrous nature.  Their only […]


Taal Volcano

  Taal Volcano is the second most active volcano found in the province of Batangas.  A complex volcano in the middle of Taal Lake and is often called an island within a lake, that is an island within a lake that is on an island as well as one of the lowest volcano in the […]

Mayon Volcano

Mayon Volcano

  Mayon Volcano is one of the active volcanoes in the Philippines.  Located in the southern part of Luzon about 473 kilometers (294 miles) from Makati Business District of the Philippines, Mount Mayon is the main landmark of the Province of Albay of Bicol Region. According to local folklore, the volcano was named after Daragang […]

How Landforms Affect Global Temperature and Weather

How Landforms Affect Global Temperature and Weather.

The global temperature and weather is to a large extent a direct result of the sun’s effect to our planet.  Together with the atmosphere and the rotation of the earth on its axis.  The earth on which weather moves on has its own effect on the weather.  The different landforms like mountains, volcanoes, plains, and the […]